GILMER–Early voting for the Nov. 6 general election and three school board elections in Upshur County opens Monday at the Upshur County Courthouse and Harmony School.

Although Union Grove ISD and New Diana ISD are joining Harmony ISD in holding school trustee elections, only Harmony ISD chose to have on-campus early voting. However, under Upshur’s “countywide voting” plan, voters who reside in New Diana ISD or Union Grove ISD can vote early in their school board race at either the courthouse or at Harmony ISD.

Any voter in the county can vote early in the general election at either location.

Hours for voting at County Elections Administrator Lory Harle’s office on the county courthouse’s second floor in downtown Gilmer are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Oct. 22-26, and 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Oct. 29-Nov. 2.

Early voting hours at Harmony ISD on Texas 154 are 8 a.m. to  4 p.m. Oct. 22-26 and Oct. 29-Nov. 2. Voter identification, such as a driver’s license, is required under state law.

Voters who are unable to go to a polling place early or on election day may request mailed paper ballots by calling Harle’s office at 903-680-8506. Applications for such ballots must be received by Oct. 26.