AUSTIN – Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Jay Canine, Coleen Johnson, and Michael McCloskey to the Texas State Board of Professional Land Surveying for terms set to expire on January 31, 2023. The board establishes standards of conduct and ethics for surveyors registered or licensed in Texas and prescribes the minimum standards for professional surveying.

Jay Canine of Sugar Land is the vice president and operations manager for Landpoint, LLC and has been a licensed land surveyor for over thirty three years. He is a member of the Texas Society of Professional Surveyors and the National Society of Professional Surveyors, and previously volunteered with Junior Achievement USA and the Boy Scouts of America. Additionally, he is currently a Commissioner on the City of Sugar Land Planning and Zoning Commission. Canine received a Bachelor of Science in land surveying from Purdue University.

Coleen Johnson of Leander has more than thirty years of experience in the surveying profession and is currently a Survey Manager for Halff Associates, Inc. She is a member and past president of the Texas Society of Professional Surveyors, past president of the Geographic & Land Information Society, Inc., member of the National Society of Professional Surveyors, and currently serves as the chair of the Item Writing Committee for the Texas Board of Professional Land Surveying. Johnson received an Associate’s of Applied Science in land surveying from Austin Community College.

Michael McCloskey of Round Rock is the director of sales with Cottonwood Lodging. He is a member of the Texas Comptroller’s Advisory Board, Cedar Park Chamber of Commerce, and the Williamson County Historical Commission. Previously, he served as chairman of the Cedar Park Planning and Zoning Commission, secretary for the Sonterra Municipal Utilities District Board of directors, and board secretary for the Leander Chamber of Commerce. McCloskey received a Bachelor of Business Administration in business management from The University of Texas of Austin.